NDIS Overview

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a government-funded program designed to provide support and assistance to people with disabilities in Australia. The NDIS was established in 2013, and it aims to improve the lives of people with disabilities by providing them with the necessary support to achieve their goals, participate in their communities, and live independently.

The NDIS provides funding to eligible individuals with disabilities to access a range of support services, including personal care, community access, employment support, therapy services, and home modifications. The support provided through the NDIS is tailored to meet the individual needs and goals of each person with a disability, with a focus on enabling them to live their life to the fullest.

To be eligible for the NDIS, an individual must meet certain criteria, including having a permanent disability that significantly impacts their daily life, being under the age of 65, and being an Australian citizen or permanent resident. Once eligibility is established, the individual can work with an NDIS planner or Local Area Coordinator (LAC) to develop a personalised plan that outlines their support needs and goals.

The NDIS operates on a funding model, where eligible individuals are provided with a budget to access the services and support they require. The budget is managed through the NDIS participant portal, which allows individuals to access their plans, review their budgets, and manage their services and providers.

The NDIS is a significant step forward in supporting people with disabilities to live their life to the fullest. It provides individuals with greater choice and control over the support they receive and aims to create a more inclusive and accessible society for people with disabilities.

Key Components of NDIS
  1. Core Supports: These are the most common support services that help people with disabilities carry out their daily living activities. These may include assistance with personal care, household tasks, community access, social participation, and other related support services.
  2. Capital Supports: Capital supports refer to items or equipment that an individual may need to help them with their disability-related activities. This may include assistive technology, home modifications, and vehicle modifications.
  3. Capacity Building Supports: Capacity building supports aim to build an individual's skills, knowledge, and independence to help them achieve their long-term goals. These supports may include training, skill-building programs, and therapies to improve communication, social skills, and decision-making abilities.
What supports are funded under the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) funds a range of supports and services to help people with disabilities live their life to the fullest. The type of support that is funded under the NDIS may include the:

  1. Daily living supports:
  2. Social and community participation supports
  3. Health and well-being support
  4. Education and employment support
  5. Home modifications and assistive technology
  6. Behavioural supports

The NDIS funds support and services that are tailored to meet the individual needs and goals of each person with a disability, with a focus on enabling them to lead independent and fulfilling life. The specific supports and services that are funded will depend on the individual's circumstances and the goals outlined in their NDIS plan.

NDIS Eligibility

To be eligible for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), an individual must:

Have a permanent disability that significantly affects their ability to carry out daily activities

  • Be under the age of 65 years at the time of application
  • Be an Australian citizen, a permanent resident, or a protected Special Category Visa holder who meets specific residency requirements
  • Live in an area where the NDIS has been rolled out
  • Require support from the NDIS to achieve their goals and lead an ordinary life

It's important to note that the eligibility criteria for the NDIS are strict, and not everyone with a disability will meet them. However, there are other government-funded support services available for those who do not meet the NDIS eligibility criteria.